Enter a search term to get started.

North Coast Land Conservancy Receives Accreditation Renewal


North Coast Land Conservancy has achieved renewal of its land trust accreditation as of Feb. 16, demonstrating once again the organization’s commitment to professional excellence and to maintaining the public’s trust in its conservation work on the Oregon Coast.

“We are a stronger organization than ever for having gone through the rigorous accreditation renewal process,” NCLC Executive Director Katie Voelke says. “Our strength means special places—such as Circle Creek Conservation Center, Boneyard Ridge and the Rainforest Reserve—will be protected in perpetuity, ensuring the Oregon Coast is a place where wildlife, plants and people thrive.”

The land trust accreditation program recognizes land conservation organizations that meet national quality standards for protecting important natural places and working lands forever. As part of the renewal process, the Land Trust Accreditation Commission, an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, conducts an extensive review of each land trust’s policies and programs.

NCLC was originally accredited in 2015 and embarked on the renewal process starting last year. The organization provided extensive documentation and was subject to a comprehensive third-party evaluation prior to achieving this distinction. A public comment session also was conducted. The Land Trust Accreditation Commission awarded renewed accreditation, signifying its confidence that NCLC’s lands will be protected forever.

“Accreditation is a mark of distinction that shows we meet the highest standards for land conservation,” Associate Director Jon Wickersham says. “It sends a message to landowners, supporters and partners that we are an effective organization that they can trust and collaborate with, knowing we have the vision and means to conserve these coastal lands forever.”

Since it was established in 1986, NCLC has conserved thousands of acres of land in Clatsop, Tillamook and Lincoln counties, mainly by acquiring land outright or by acquiring conservation easements on private land with willing sellers. NCLC has also helped transfer hundreds of acres of land to public ownership.

“It is exciting to recognize NCLC’s continued commitment to national standards by renewing this national mark of distinction,” said Melissa Kalvestrand, executive director of the Commission. “Donors and partners can trust the more than 450 accredited land trusts across the country are united behind strong standards and have demonstrated sound finances, ethical conduct, responsible governance, and lasting stewardship.”

NCLC is one of 1,363 land trusts across the United States according to the Land Trust Alliance’s most recent National Land Trust Census. Accredited land trusts now steward almost 20 million acres—the size of Denali, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Glacier, Everglades and Yosemite National Parks combined.

A complete list of accredited land trusts and more information about the process and benefits can be found at www.landtrustaccreditation.org.


About the Land Trust Accreditation Commission

The Land Trust Accreditation Commission inspires excellence, promotes public trust and ensures permanence in the conservation of open lands by recognizing organizations that meet rigorous quality standards and strive for continuous improvement. The Commission, established in 2006 as an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, is governed by a volunteer board of diverse land conservation and nonprofit management experts. For more, visit www.landtrustaccreditation.org.


Leave A Comment:

Your email address will not be published.
Required fields are marked with a “*”.